Those in the District of Franklin, north of the mainland of Canada, are generally referred to as the Canadian Arctic Archipelago; those in the extreme north – lying

north of 73°30'N - are known as the Queen Elizabeth Islands.

The largest and most important islands on the West Coast are Vancouver Island and the Queen Charlotte Islands, but the coastal waters are studded with many small rocky islands. The largest off the East Coast are the island of Newfoundland, the province of Prince Edward Island, Cape Breton Island of Nova Scotia, Grand Manan and Campobello islands of New Brunswick and Anticosti Island and the Madeleine group of Quebec.

Notable islands of the inland waters include Manitoulin Island, 2766 km² in area, in Lake Huron, the so-called Thirty Thousand Islands of Georgian Bay and the Thousand Islands in the outlet from Lake Ontario into the St. Lawrence River.

The areas of principal islands by region are given in Table 1.6.

Surveying and mapping

1.1.5

The surveys and mapping branch of the energy, mines and resources department is Canada's major mapping agency. The branch compiles topographic maps, aeronautical charts, thematic maps and base maps of various scales for specialized uses by other agencies to provide geological, aeromagnetic, electoral and land use information. The geodetic survey division establishes and maintains the national system of control surveys to serve the needs of mapping, charting and boundary surveys and geoscience research. Topographical surveys has completed the mapping of Canada at the scale of 2.0 cm to 5.0 km and is now mapping the country at the scale of 2.0 cm to 1.0 km. All of the settled areas and many regions of northern development, amounting to slightly more than half of the country, are mapped at this larger scale. There are 690 maps available at the scale of 4.0 cm to 1.0 km covering all major cities and their suburbs. Photomaps derived from air photographs using photogrammetric technology are also available covering some of the areas mapped at the two largest scales, 2.0 cm to 1.0 km and 4.0 cm to 1.0 km. The legal surveys division is responsible for the technical management of legal surveys of land under federal jurisdiction, such as the northern territories, national parks and Indian reserves. It also executes such surveys on behalf of administering departments, collaborates in the demarcation of provincial boundaries, prepares descriptions of electoral districts and generally provides land-surveying services to other departments.

A permanent committee on geographical names deals with all questions of geographical nomenclature affecting Canada and advises on research and investigation into the origin and usage of names. Its membership includes representatives of federal mapping agencies and other federal offices concerned with nomenclature and representatives appointed by each province. The committee's functions were redefined in 1969 (order-in-council PC 1969-1458). The order-in-council recognizes that the provinces have exclusive jurisdiction to make decisions on names in lands under their jurisdiction. The committee is administered by the energy, mines and resources department.

Geology

1.2

Canada is composed of 17 geological provinces that may be grouped under four main categories — continental shelf, platform, orogen and shield. The geologically youngest provinces, the Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic continental shelves, are made up of little-deformed sediments and volcanics, mainly of Mesozoic and Cenozoic age, which are still accumulating along the margins of the present continental mass. The St. Lawrence, Interior, Arctic and Hudson platforms are formed of thick flat-lying Phanerozoic strata covering large parts of the crystalline basement rocks of the continental interior, the extension of the Canadian Shield. The Appalachian, Cordilleran and Innuitian orogens are mountain belts of deformed and metamorphosed sedimentary and volcanic rocks mainly Phanerozoic and Proterozoic in age, intruded by granitic plutons. They were produced during the various Phanerozoic orogenies 50 to 500 million years ago. Of the seven provinces comprising the Precambrian Canadian Shield, the Grenville, Churchill,